Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection Review

  • Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
  • Developer: Naughty Dog, Bluepoint Games
  • MSRP: $59.99
  • Rated: T
  • Release Date: October 9th, 2015
  • Platform: Playstation 4
  • Rating: ★★★★☆

After finishing the install for the Nathan Drake Collection and the music started with the Uncharted theme, I knew I was in for an adventure. From start to finish in each game, all I longed for was to find that treasure or the lost city of each game. From beautiful mountainous regions to climb, to train rides through luxurious jungles, and deserts, this collection shows just how addicting and epic these titles are.

The games were not  reworked on by acclaimed studio and creator Naughty Dog, instead the remaster of all three games was handled by Bluepoint Games. This is the same studio that has done a few other ports, such as the Xbox 360 port of Titanfall. Luckily you have no need to worry about Naughty Dog not handling the collection.  Bluepoint has done a great job bringing these games onto the Playstation 4. The glitches and such are still here, though. There was one point on Uncharted 2 for example that a cutscene didn’t trigger like it was supposed to and I was wandering around for about 20 minutes waiting for something to happen until I had to reload the checkpoint.  It is a shame they could not fine tune the title to remove bugs such as this.

The gameplay of each game has been upgraded to 60 fps for each game instead of the standard 30 fps which is the first noticeable improvement. The environments have been given a slight upgrade for each game. Cover based third person shooting are the standard combat controls for these games, as well as collecting the treasures around each mission in the game with fluid movement for exploring. Each game has been brought to its core points of action and adventure and sure makes you feel like a true treasure hunter. Humor and dialogue throughout the story from the characters really can calm down the action as well in a good way.

One new additional feature that was implemented into the game is the new continuous speed run mode. If you aim to beat the game as fast as possible, whether that be any of the three games available, it will time you and stack you up against other Uncharted speedrunners around the world. Different skins, cheats, and more can be unlocked for those who like to “cheat” or are just looking for some hilarity such as zero gravity when enemies die and they just slowly drift away. One of my personal favorites is Doughnut Drake which makes Nathan Drake look like he has eaten too many doughnuts and he gets extremely fat.

The multiplayer is missing from this collection which is easily the biggest disappointment. Even though is has the three campaigns, the multiplayer missing is a big problem. It feels like a chunk is missing from this collection. This doesn’t mean that it is not worth the purchase, however. You will have many things to keep you busy with the three full stories that soften the blow from this exclusion.

My time in the world of Uncharted was fantastic. Whether you are playing these games for the first time or looking to jump back into the series, it truly warrants the time investment of playing through each game.  Not only that, but with the conclusion to the Uncharted Saga coming in the soon to be released Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, this collection makes the wait that much more exciting.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.